Thai Armed Forces warn that Russia will sanction APEC trade bloc if struggle continues

With Members only -Pacific Economic Cooperation commerce bloc this yr, the Thai Armed Forces have warned Russia is likely to impose sanctions if the war on Ukraine continues.
“If the Russia-Ukraine battle continues, economic sanctions on APEC will emerge.”
The trade block is made up of the US, Russia, China, Japan, Australia, Canada, South Korea, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines, Thailand, Taiwan, Chile, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Peru, and Vietnam. The Royal Thai Armed Forces Security Centre says Russia has already blacklisted 8 members – the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, and New Zealand. According to a Nation Thailand report, the centre factors out that Thailand, which hosts APEC forums this 12 months, will come underneath increased pressure if the US and its allies boycott the forums.
In related information, the centres says it’s compiling info on terrorist organisations or groups which have come into battle with APEC members, with a concentrate on the ASEAN region and lone-wolf figures. In addition, officials in Thailand’s three southern border provinces are on alert for locals travelling to countries with hyperlinks to terrorism. The centre says that so far, no APEC member has raised any specific concern forward of the conferences in October and November this year. However, it provides that Thailand is ramping up security and intelligence, to guard the country’s popularity.
Meanwhile, the Foreign Ministry says it does not expect Russia’s struggle on Ukraine to disrupt the October meeting of APEC members..

Leave a Comment